top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanelle Sanz

Downeaster Cider House

Updated: May 3, 2018

Before we get started, I want to make something clear. Downeast Cider is my absolute favorite cider. You'll see me use Downeast and Angry Orchard as a scale when comparing ciders.

Downeast Cider House is located in Boston, Ma. The company was created by two seniors in college.

Last summer I booked a trip to Boston for my boyfriend's birthday. We had nothing in mind so I started doing research on things to do in Boston. It mostly consisted of visiting the New England Aquarium and the Samuel Adams brewery. But again, beer......ew. So I started searching for cideries near Boston and came across Downeast. I have to admit, they're website really attracted me. I saw they give tours (not to mention they're free) and, wait for it..... they give out samples and a flight of cider (on the house)! Now I was really excited. I booked a tour for two on Saturday afternoon and now I couldn't wait for my trip to Boston, regardless of what else we decided to do.


The cidery is located in an industrial area so we were a bit confused when we stepped out of the Uber. We walked in and were politely greeted by someone who asked if we were there for a tour. They told us to take a seat and wait till everyone arrived. There were high tops and a small bar area with ciders on tap and a bunch of merch. We were seated right near the area where they make the cider. Stacks of packaged cider filled the room from floor to ceiling. It was nothing fancy but you definitely felt like you were a local.


When our time came, our tour guide told us to take a seat at a table nearby where they had a flight of cider lined up for each person. There were about 10 people per tour.


Complimentary flight of cider (AWESOME)

Our tour guide explained each flavor of cider starting from left to right as we drank. Flavors ranging from original to cranberry and a summer blend. When we were finished the tour began. Our tour guide took us through the story of how Downeast was created, while we moved from different parts of the cidery. When we came to their meeting room where they typically brainstorm new flavors, we were greeted with samples of new ciders that were in the works, and not yet on shelves. The tour continued with the explanation of the technical aspects of how the cider is made and concluded with a trip to the bar area where we were able to purchase growlers, cans and merch.


Ciders on tap

Whenever I visit a new place I go "merch crazy." I wanted everything! My boyfriend and I each got a growler filled with a mint lemonade flavored cider that was only available on tap. I grabbed two cider glasses (because I needed something to drink my cider in, right?) and a 12 variety pack of cider, which allowed me to mix n match my flavors.


I was so excited when I left the cidery, knowing I found a cider I absolutely love and was excited to drink! However, I could not recall seeing this brand in NJ. To my surprise, when I returned back from my trip I was able to find it in a few stores. And as time went on, I saw it in more stores and more flavors were available.


Next time I return to Boston I'm definitely going to make time to stop at Downeast again. They're constantly releasing new flavors, some of which are only available on tap.


Stay tuned for my review of their cider and in the meantime, check out their website! https://downeastcider.com/


Their Instagram is pretty cool too! https://www.instagram.com/downeastcider/


If you can't find their cider near you, they have it available for purchase on their website (except if you live in NJ, grrrr).

bottom of page