top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanelle Sanz

Charcuterie & Downeast Cider Pairing

Please just take a second to admire this beautiful charcuterie board.

If you're still in awe, let me tell you what you're looking at! Pictured above is thinly sliced prosciutto, toasty bread, fig jam (AHHMAZING), brie cheese and another sharp cheese (I don't exactly remember which kind.) Oh, and down at the right corner is garlic knots smothered in a garlic sauce.

Okay, I'm making myself hungry just talking about this!

While I was in Boston last summer, I visited Downeast Cider House (check out my blog post here). I found The Salty Pig on Yelp and decided to give it a try after seeing many pictures similar to the one I took above. Who doesn't love cheese?!

I was so excited that they had their local cider on tap: Downeast! I believe they had 2 different flavors but I went with the original that I had earlier that day when I visited the cidery.

The original was a perfect pair with this cheese board. Their original cider is probably one of my favorite regular ciders because it tastes like actual apples! It doesn't have an artificial flavor and when you pour it into a glass you can see the particles of apples floating around. The perfect amount of sweetness in the cider paired great with the saltiness of this cheese board, the garlic knots and even the pizza we had for dinner!

Next time you have company, forget the wine! Buy a few cases of Downeast and present it with a nice array of cheeses!

bottom of page